The Last Thing, The Ring

The Word: Clamp

The last thing, the ring. So tight around her finger,
the flesh softly bulged. They had been married so long.
The ring. This noose, this clamp. And her finger, like a young tree
which someone had carelessly left wrapped in its supporting cable,
so that as the tree grew, it absorbed the cable into its very flesh.

That which had once supported it, was now so deeply embedded, she feared it was inextricable.

It had been years since she had seen the inscription.
A quote, a date she would learn to forget.

She soaked her hand in dishwashing soap. Turned and turned, her sweat dripping into the sink.

Clamp. Noun. A device used to hold an object in a fixed position.

It took a jeweler’s great jawed cutter to remove this object
from its fixed position.

And two lawyers.

Part of a weekly series of short short stories based on a writing exercise, The Word. “Inspired by a simple word, chosen at random, write a two-page double-spaced story, using the Word at least once.”

Next week’s word is: STAMP

8 Responses to “The Last Thing, The Ring”

  1. Marleeo Says:

    YEE HAAAA, I’m free!

  2. The abrupt ending is great–rhymthically and otherwise. I once wrote in a poem that backing out of a gravel driveway—the first time using a stickshift–was harder than getting out of the marriage. Getting free of the marriage was easy—custody was not even on the table—although we did haggle over the division of our record collection. This was in 1980–the era just past 8-track tapes and long before CD’s…)

    I also enjoyed the visual images…the tree growing into the cable…the ring embedded in the flesh.

  3. Diane Brown Says:

    That was fun!

  4. I love it. I took my wedding ring off more than a year ago. I’ve deliberately held that hand out in sunny places to erase the pale reminder, but there is still a crease in that finger if I bend it at certain angles.

    My favorite part is-

    “It took a jeweler’s great jawed cutter to remove this object
    from its fixed position.

    And two lawyers.”

  5. “That which had once supported it, was now so deeply embedded, she feared it was inextricable.”

    I’ve read this post at least a dozen times. You have such a powerful way of story-telling. Your works have been the fire to reignite my passion to write.

    Please post again soon!

  6. i’m so glad to have found your blog, janet. not sure if you remember me; i was at the italy writing conference. will be reading, regularly. xo

  7. Bayleigh McLelland Says:

    I’m quite in love with this piece. The imagery is wonderful. Of course, your imagery always has a way of seducing the mind. I’m such a fan of yours! So glad I found your blog (you’d think I’d pay more attention to my myspace). I hope that I can write as well as you one day.

Leave a Reply

